Eastside Awards 2018

Eastside Awards 2018 

The Eastside Awards is an exciting initiative aimed at highlighting and celebrating all that is good about East Belfast, whilst showcasing the contributions being made to the economic, social and community development of the area (which will include Holywood Exchange, Dundonald, Forrestside, Ravenhill and Titanic Quarter)

We would love to have an entry or a nomination from you so please take a few moments to review the 13 Categories to see which of these is the most appropriate. There are 11 categories which are open to applications and two which are by nomination only. 

Awards by application:

•    Business Start-up
•    SME Business Growth
•    Independent Retailer
•    Business Contribution to the Community
•    Educator of the Year
•    Tourism
•    Community Project
•    Individual Contribution to Sport
•    Arts
•    Business Employer of the Year
•    Foodie Destination

Awards by Nomination Only:

•    Young Person
•    Volunteer

Award presented by selection only:

•    Outstanding Contribution

All you need to know about submitting an entry:

Who can apply?

Individuals, organisations and businesses based in or operating in the broad East Belfast area.


•    Business:
o    defined as Private Sector, Social Enterprise or Social Business
•    Organisations: 
o    defined as Public Sector, Charities, Community Groups or Faith Organisations
•    Individuals:    
o    can come from any of the above  

How to apply

If you are seeking to submit an entry there is a simple application Form to complete and submit. The completed form should be returned no later than 5pm 20th November 2017. 
Forms can be emailed to info@eastideawards.org or posted to:

Eastside Awards Committee
City East Business Centre, 68-72 Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 1GW

All queries in relation to applications can be sent to info@eastideawards.org

Entering or Nominating?

If you are making an entry on behalf of your business or organisation the judges will be interested in your achievements and contributions in the category chosen aligned with the category criteria.

If you are nominating an individual please make sure you have their permission and can supply sufficient information about their achievements and contributions in the category nominated

What information do I need to provide?

Each category has a list of criteria included which you should refer to when creating your submission. This list will provide a useful guide for you to set out your story in a structured way and help you to cover the areas that will help the judges in their decisions.

When to apply and schedule of activities:

o    Entries Open on Thursday 19th October 2017

o    Entries close Monday 20th November 2017

o    Judging will take place week commencing 5th December

o    Finalists will be notified mid-December

o    Award Ceremony 25th January 2018

What is the judging process? 

Each category will be judged by a panel of respected individuals from the private, public and community sectors. Each application will be assed using the criteria set out for each category from which the judges will identify the finalists and the overall recipient.  

It is important for entrants to look at the criteria carefully and to provide as much evidence as possible to help the judges appreciate the achievements listed as fully as they can.